New Year: 2016

Hello!

This is weird? It’s weird isn’t it?! I’m uncharacteristically posting a new entry that isn’t arriving within the expected timeframe! How peculiar! Yet, I did say that I’d try and have something for you for the New Year, so I’m sharing with you all something I wrote on Facebook earlier this evening. It was always intended to be posted here as well, but some information has been removed to protect identities, and some tweaking and polishing has been made.

image

Anyways, here it is.


I’ve been reluctant to post a reflection on 2015, mostly because I tend to see things in a negative light, but also because an awful lot of negative things have happened this year (illness, depression, death, et cetera), but actually looking back on 2015 I see a year not where I survived all of these shitty things, but a year where I thrived despite them.

In October I quit smoking, and quit drinking along with it (even if there was a relapse in December thanks to the recent winter wonderland wedding!). I finished my first year at university; a place I never thought I’d see, let alone a place I would be at as I approached 30! However, Not only did I finish the year, but I finished with a First, despite all the chaos going on in the 2nd quarter of the year.

I also got a permanent paid job for the first time in nearly 5 years! Those who have followed me from the beginning of this blog will know how much of a challenge getting to this point has been. And not only is it a paid job, but it’s a paid job I actually like more than any other minimum wage job I’ve ever held.

This year I saw 2 sets of friends marry mere months apart at events that were outstanding, wonderful, beautiful, fantastic, tremendous, amazeballs (I’m running out of superlatives). The memories made at both weddings will remain with my for the rest of my life, as I’m sure they will remember their wedding days too.

Finally, I started a 2nd year at university and didn’t drop out. Depression is hard. The big Black Dog has been hanging around me for quite a while now, it refuses to leave, and despite this I am still here. It wants to grind me into the dirt, it wants to break me, but this is another year where I come out victorious against the demonic little shit. You only have one life to live, so make the most of it, embrace it, follow your dreams, and do what makes you happy.

Happy New Year and much love ❤

Leave a Reply

