Weeks 65 & 66 – Smoking Cigarettes and Watching Captain Kangaroo

apostrophe - catastrophe

Apologies for the gap. With last week being a holiday I found myself rather busy, and also quite hungover. I’m getting too old to drink – it takes me far too long to recover! On the bright side of a hideous hangover I decided to quite smoking (again) and have now lasted a week. It has actually been relatively easier going this time round than previously, although I’m off out tonight which may be the test to see how well I actually do. That being said, drinking makes it worse so I’ve sworn off the booze for the foreseeable future until I get this whole quitting malarkey down.

Sigh.

It’s just such a shame smoking is so bad for your health and so expensive. I bloody love a good smoke I do.

Pulp Fiction - Motherfucker

In other news…

I’ve been on sertraline alone for 2 weeks now, and so far am finding it better, although the side effects are fairly horrendous. I feel nauseous most mornings and evenings, but I’m trying to work out if that is actually a side effect or a result of anxiety levels rising. I say that because sleep has been difficult lately, and I’ve barely managed to sleep through a single night without waking up after a few hours or having a lot of difficulty getting to sleep. It’s nice to be on the other side of the coin after 2 years of sedative sleep, but not being able to get to sleep really irritates me. It’s more to do with the negative thoughts, the anxious thoughts, which enter into my head more frequently at night now. I’ve been using skills I learnt at CBT last year to help relax and filter out the noise, but I’m finding it insufficient. I’ve now resorted to sleeping with earphones playing relaxing music with CBT to help nod off.

I’d write more, but 1) I don’t want to bore you, and 2) I’ve been finding it hard to sit down and concentrate on much of anything. I’ve got a pile of assignments I need to finish by next week and have had 3 weeks to get it done. It’s probably just me being a lazy sod, but the anxiety at the minute, whilst not entirely crippling, is certainly distracting.

Until next time…

Pics 009

One thought on “Weeks 65 & 66 – Smoking Cigarettes and Watching Captain Kangaroo

Leave a Reply

