Weeks 41 & 42

So this is it, huh? Autumn (or fall if you’re in North America) is well and truly here. The temperature is dropping, it’s 10 Weeks until the New Year, and Halloween is just around the corner.

So what’s new?

Not much to be honest. I reconciled a little with the friend who had neglected me… So… Y’know…

A friend also took me on a night out last week, to the surprise of everyone who knows him. We had a fairly enjoyable night; unfortunately things took a turn at about 4am when we went back to his mother’s place as it was her birthday. He ended up in an altercation with his step-father which turned violent. At the time I was outside, and by the time I realised it was a full blown domestic there was nothing I could do but sit tight. I didn’t know what had happened and for all I knew my presence with the step-father would only exasperate the situation. When things went a quiet I decided to make my way inside where his mum told me it was best to leave. It was a very long, cold walk home that night. Later I learnt that things were all OK after the police turned up, and by the sounds of it the step-dad had been kicked out.

College is still going well. We wrapped filming up the week before last, with editing starting this week. I’ve certainly got a new found respect for editors as the process can be extremely long if the shots or sound quality is poor. I managed to finish the whole thing with less than a minute to spare before handing in on Friday. I’m satisfied with the outcome of the film, but I think I could have done better during filming. To me there was a lot of obvious continuity errors that affect the overall look. Hopefully tomorrow I’ll find out how I’ve been graded, and if I qualify for as good a grade as I hope.

This week I learnt that part of my Dad’s disability benefit was being stopped. My dad was diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis nearly 10 years ago. Considering how a lot of sufferers of multiple sclerosis can quickly succumb to mobility issues, my Dad has been quite lucky to remain able to walk, if only for short distances. The reason why his benefit has been stopped is because he has been moved into the “work related category” of the Department of Work and Pensions. Whilst my family has been appealing this for the past year, due to the nature of my Dad’s illness, they’ve still decided to stop his money until it’s resolved. The good news is that if we win the appeal the money will be back dated, the bad news is the date of the appeal still hasn’t been set and could be months away. What this means is we’re in for a tough financial time. With my parents still supporting me living with them and me not having any income the pressure is on to find part time work to fit around college, and yes the jobs market is still as dire as it was when I became unemployed originally nearly 2 years ago.

So with that I guess my mood the past week or so has been a little erratic. I’m coping well, or atleast it appears that way – I think I’ve begun hiding my feelings a lot more about things rather than voicing an opinion on matters. This is probably not a good sign as this is on of the signs to the onset of a major episode. I suppose if I’m recognising that now then perhaps I can stave it off.

I have a few events on the cards for the next few weeks, one being a doctor appointment with a new GP after my previous GP left. It’s quite likely that my new GP will be a student doctor and will only be there for a few months so my task on Tuesday is to scope out a doctor that’s there longer than a few months.

A friend of mine is also hosting a Halloween party on the 31st. With money being the way that it is at the moment I don’t think I’ll be going as I can’t afford to go out, let alone afford a Halloween costume.

I apologise for this entry not being as upbeat as I was hoping it to be. I’m feeling quite tired with all of this at the moment.

Until next week…

Leave a Reply

