Week 40

So I guess this means it’s 12 weeks until the end of the year, huh?

This week saw my twenty – somethinth birthday. Yes, I’ve turned the milestone twenty – something! I remember it like it was only yesterday when I turned twenty – something, and now I’m twenty – something – more! Incredible!

Yes, I’m another year older, and to be honest I actually do feel a bit more wiser. I don’t feel any more youthful though that’s for sure; I’ve actually been plucking grey hairs from my scalp for the past 3 months! I celebrated the anniversary of my birth by doing what most people in the country seems to do on such an occasion and go on a drunken night out on the town with friends. It was good fun for sure, I saw people I hadn’t seen in a while, and I got remarkable drunk in a short amount of time (after having not drunk to excess for nearly a month). Yes, it was a good old fashioned fun.

There is a ‘but’ coming – and if you would rather skip this feel free to gloss over the next paragraph – Still here? Are you sure? Thanks …So I feel like I have been let down by one particular friend.

To set the scene: A group of my friends had gone to visit another friend of mine who moved to Germany almost 2 years ago. They’d spent most of the year arranging to go, and I would have gone too if not for the pesky problems that have plagued me for the last year or so. This meant some would be away for my birthday, but also some of them would be back in time. After some feedback I moved things around for the night I was going out to accommodate them, or rather him. Bearing in mind I wasn’t planning on a big event, just a few casual friends in a few familiar places for some drinks, I didn’t think it would be too much hassle firmly setting plans in motion the week before. Unfortunately, after messaging everyone, only a small handful actually did get in touch with me. Others we occupied (which is fine), some were ill (which again is fine), but of the 2 returning from Germany, with one a close friend, having not returned a message at all? That upset me. I ended up hearing from a mutual friend on the night that he wouldn’t be attending, but what upsets me is he didn’t call or message me personally, not even a “Happy Birthday”. I’ve struggled to maintain a friendship with this person for many years, he can often be thoughtless, but he is often the one doing the prompting with people on doing things for their birthday. After rearranging things for the night to suit him, he had really hurt me. I really felt like maybe I had done something wrong. Perhaps I had said something or wrote something that offended him. Eventually I received a message yesterday, 3 days later after photos were uploaded to Facebook, asking if I had a good birthday. He left me a few blasé across social networks about some things we have similar interests in prior to this, which I had ignored, which had me wondering if maybe he had twigged on something. Maybe he was now feeling remorseful for not messaging. Perhaps that is quite conceited of me. In fact I think it is very conceited of me. Suffice it to say that this has irked me somewhat.

 

So as I was saying, yes, it was a jolly old good time! Let’s have a cup of tea and reminisce of things of old and of beauty!

College continues to be a source of interest, being both informative and challenging. We’ve been trying to film a short film in college hours for the past week with other students, with less than a week left to complete our filming. I think we have 2 out of 4 scenes completed, but I’m sure I still need some more shots to complete the shoot.

The gym is also going well…ish. My last gym session was Wednesday of last week, and I took 4 days off to do college, family stuff, boozing, and recovering. Yesterday was my first day back and I could really feel it. I think I’m going to stop drinking more or less from here on out, as the 4-6 weeks off the booze seems to have done me some good. I’ve felt a lot more clear headed, and have been able to be a more productive person as a result. The “more or less” part is really only to reserve drinking for certain occasions, important birthdays, holidays (Christmas is only 11 weeks off ;P). My weight has been more manageable with less beer, with my confidence in myself and my abilities improving constantly between college and my improving fitness.

So yes, overall, things continue to go rather swimmingly. I’m kind of looking forward to Halloween, if only to watch some scary films, even though an invite has been extended to go to a party. It’s not that I don’t want to go, I just kind of like the idea of sitting in with family or friends to watch something scary with popcorn and ice cream.

Until next week, jolly ho!

(I promise next week I will try to reign in this style of writing, it is extremely off-putting, I agree)

Leave a Reply

